Nigeria is the largest egg producer in Africa recording an average annual growth rate of 4% between 2000 and 2012 when output reached 640,000 tonnes.
However, the rate flock expansion has slowed around 2.5 % since 2008, reflecting a large increase in input costs and their impact on profitability. With cost and profit in mind, poultry farmers are more knee like never before to source for ways to cut costs and maximize profit.
And one of the steps to ensure that your plans will materialize is by estimating cost and profit for your production.
In my last two posts, I estimated the cost and profit for raising 200 layers for a year and the cost and profit from 100 broilers in 8 weeks. And some of you requested the cost of raising 1000 layers in Nigeria.
So, in this post, I am going to give an estimated cost and profit for raising 1000 layers in Nigeria with an estimated cost of 1000 capacity battery cages. As usual, this article will be divided Into two parts;
So, get your pen, paper and calculator let do some homework
Let assume you have a structure already in place, and the manpower/labor for this number of birds will be done by you, your family, and one employee considering the number of birds.
These are the major expenses
Day old chicks
2 . 5 pieces of plywood for making a brooder @₦2000 = ₦ 10,000
3. 8 bags of charcoal for heating the brooder @ ₦2,700 = ₦ 21,600
4. Brooding charcoal burners @₦ 2500/one = ₦ 12,500
1 chick feeds 45gms of chick-mash per day
Therefore, 1000 chicks feed 45gms x 1000 = 45000gms
1000gms = 1 kg
There 45000gms = 45kg
Chick-mash is fed to chicken for 60 days
Therefore 60 days x 45kg =2700kg
1 bag = 25kgs =₦ 5,305
108 bags = 2700kg = ₦572,940
Therefore, 1000 chicks will feed on chick-mash for 60 days
(108 bags) = ₦572,840
Thousand layers in woody cages
1 pullet feeds 70gms of grower-mash per day
1000 pullets feed 70gms x 1000 chicks = 70000gms
1000gms = 1kg
Therefore 70000gms = 70kg
Grower mash is fed to chicken up to point of lay (POL)
POL is approximated to be day 120
Day 120 end of grower mash – Day 60 end of chick-mash = 60 days
Therefore 60 days x 70kg =4200kg
1 bag = 25kg =₦4,900
168 bags = 4200kg = ₦823,200
1000 pullets will feed 168 bags of grower mash in 60 days, costing ₦823,200
Mash, crumble and pelleted feed
1 pullet feeds 90gms to 105gms of layer-mash per day
90gms at the start of laying and 105gms at maximum
mash on average (90 +105)gms/2 = 97.5gms
Therefore, 1000 pullets feed 97.5gms x 1000 =97500gms
1000gms = 1kg
Therefore, 97500gms = 97.5kg
Layers mash is fed to chicken up to menopause (week 72 or day 504)
POL is approximately to be day 120
Day 504 ( end of layers mash ) – Day 120 (start of layers mash )= 384 days
Therefore 384 days x 97.5kg = 37440kg
1 bag = 25kg = ₦5,465
1497.6 bags = 37440kg =₦8,184,384
Cost for layer mash for 1000 pullets for 384 days =₦8,184,384
Approximately 1498 bags of layers mash will feed 1000 layers for 384 days
Also read: Fowl pox symptoms, treatment and prevention
1000 doses of Newcastle Disease (ND) IB Lasota strain = ₦2,150
1000 doses of ND Lasota plain = ₦1,550
1000 doses of Gumboro = ₦ 2,040
1000 doses 0f intermediate Gumboro = ₦1,480
1000 doses of fowl pox = ₦1,300
The Total cost for vaccine = ₦ 8,520
The total cost of Vitamin and Antibiotics for 1000 pullets is =
Total cost for the drinker, feeder, and wood shavings = 108,000
Tube Drinker and feeder
₦10,000/month for 1 year and a half (18 months)
Therefore 10000 x 18 = ₦ 180,000
Total cost in words = DOT + Plywood + charcoal + charcoal burner + Chick-mash + Grower mash + Layers mash + Vaccine + Vitamins and Antibiotics + Finder. Drinker and Wood shavings.
Total cost in figures =350,000 + 10,000 + 21,600 +12,500 +
572, 840 + 823,200 + 8,184,384 +8,520 +27,100 +108,200 +180,000 =
Kindly note that these are the major costs. The majority are capital costs, meaning they shall not be incurred in subsequent production.
Moreover, you can cut down costs if you can improvise some of this equipment and materials like cartoons, wood shavings, feeders, and even drinkers too.
In total you need at least =₦10,298,344
You do not need all this cash at a go to start; you may even need a quarter. So don’t be scared by the huge sum of money ok, just start before you know it you see yourself overcoming the challenges. Start Now!
Ok, it is time to reap the fruits of our labour. You have done a great job so far, now let look into the profit from 1000 layers.
Note: In part one we estimated the cost of rearing 1000 layers up to week 72. Here our profit margins shall be as well up to 72 weeks.
Let get down to it:
A bird starts laying between week 18 and week 22.
From week 18 and week 22, the cumulative egg per bird is approximated to be 329 eggs
Remember not all birds will survive to week 72.
Therefore cumulative mortality at week 72 is assumed to be 4% when all factors are held optimum.
Thus cumulative mortality shall be, 1000 x 4/100 = 40
Total laying birds = 1000 – 40 = 960
Total eggs = 960 x 329= 315,840 eggs
1 egg = ₦40 (farm gate price)
Therefore 315,840x 40 = ₦12,633,600
Total sales of eggs from 960 layers is =₦12,633,600
Year 1 (Profit)
Total sales – Total Cost = Profit
₦(12,633,600 - 10,298,344 ) = ₦2,335,256 (Approximately $5,696)
Profit amount from 1000 layers is two million three hundred thirty-five thousand, two hundred and fifty-six naira (₦2,335,256) Wow! This what I call ‘poultry oil well’. Imagine if feeds and medications are not as expensive as it is now in the market, I bet, you can make 50% of your investment as profit.
In conclusion, poultry farming is no doubt a profitable business especially when done right. The major threat here is the high cost of feed which has caused the slow down flock expansion and forced some poultry farmers to empty and close down their farms.
However, as I stated earlier, you can cut down your expenses by improvising some of this equipment from cheaper materials.
You can also formulate your feed to cut down your expenses to at least 30% or 40%, which is the main cause of high input in poultry farming.
Again, you can also make extra profit and take care of other minor expenses after selling them off as old layers. They are sold between ₦1700 to ₦2000 depending on the age, size, and season.
PS: Cost for 1000 Capacity Battery cage
locally fabricated cage
96 capacity = ₦ 68,000
120 capacity = ₦ 75,000
128 capacity = ₦80,000
Divide the number of birds by each cages’ capacity, then you will know how many unities you have to buy.
Thefore for 1000 layers you will have;
So you can choose the amount that best fits your taste and budget
I am wishing you a profitable poultry farming as you venture into egg production.
Please, comment and share with family and friends.
Share on Twitter Share on Facebook